New Release Round-Up 07-14-23

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real - Sticks and Stones

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real - Sticks and Stones - 6 Ace Records
Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Reall are back with Sticks and Stones, releasing this week via 6ACE Records / Thirty Tigers. This self-produced, honest and emotional new album highlights Nelson's strength as a songwriter and the band's uncompromising commitment to clarity, compassionate tones, and exceptional melodic moments. Lyrically, Sticks and Stones spans the themes of Drinking, Heartbreak, Love, Lying, Hope, Nature, Self-Reflection, Work-Life Balance, Settling Down, Home, Time, Longing and more.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

John Coltrane - Evenings At The Village Gate: John Coltrane With Eric Dolphy

John Coltrane - Evenings At The Village Gate: John Coltrane With Eric Dolphy - Impulse Records
In August of 1961, the John Coltrane Quintet played an engagement at the legendary Village Gate in Greenwich Village, New York. Ninety minutes of never-before-heard music from this group were recently discovered at the New York Public Library. In addition to some well-known Coltrane material ("Impressions"), there is a breathtaking feature for Dolphy's bass clarinet on "When Lights Are Low" and the only known non-studio recording of Coltrane's composition "Africa", from the Africa/Brass album.

Video Available

Lauren Spencer Smith - Mirror

Lauren Spencer Smith - Mirror - Island / Republic Records
Multiplatinum singer/songwriter Lauren Spencer Smith releases her debut album Mirror via Island/Republic Records. Mirror features 15 deeply moving, personal songs which tell a story filled with autobiographical ups and downs. It’s an album that promises depth, range and narrative. By the age of 19, Lauren has two RIAA-Platinum singles ("Fingers Crossed" and "Flowers") and has amassed over 1 billion streams from singles featured on Mirror.

Video Available

XXXTentacion - XXXtentacion Presents: Members Only Vol. 3

XXXTentacion - XXXtentacion Presents: Members Only Vol. 3 - Bad Vibes Forever
Members Only is a group XXXTentacion formed as he was still bubbling beneath the surface of the mainstream. The album features XXXTentaction, Ski Mask The Slump Godd, Kid Trunks, Robb Bank$, Craig Xen, Bass Santana, Flyboy Tarantino, Kin$oul, Killstation, Coolie Cut, Tank Head.

Also Available XXXTentacion - XXXtentacion Presents: Members Only Vol. 4

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced


Rita Ora - You & I
5 Seconds Of Summer - The Feeling of Falling Upwards (Live from The Royal Albert Hall)
Charli XCX - Pop 2: 5 Year Anniversary
PVRIS - Evergreen
Ramona Lisa - Arcadia [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Sea Blue LP]
Snooper - Super Snõõper [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Clear w/Green Wisp LP]
Temple of Angels - Endless Pursuit
RM (BTS) - Indigo
Michael Bolton - Spark Of Light
Sam Burton - Dear Departed [Limited Edition White LP]
Royston Langdon - President Alien
Brian May + Friends - Star Fleet Sessions: 40th Anniversary
Colter Wall - Little Songs [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Opaque Baby Blue LP]
Duane Betts - Wild and Precious Life
The Dirty Nil - Free Rein To Passions [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Blue Ghostly LP]
Far Caspian - The Last Remaining Light [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Clear with Black Marble LP]
Andrew Lloyd Webber - Make A Joyful Noise [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition CD Single]
Chamber - A Love To Kill For [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Electric Blue w/ White & Black Twist LP]
Eric Clapton - Moon River/How Could We Know [Vinyl Single]
ella jane - marginalia [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Deluxe Gold LP]

& More .....

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section.


Blur - The Ballad of Darren

Blur - The Ballad of Darren - Warner Records
Since announcing their arrival with debut album in 1991, Blur went on to revolutionise the sound of English popular music with six successive UK #1 albums and a string of Top 10 singles, including two No 1s, helping to propel the band to mass popularity at home and abroad. One of the biggest British bands of the last three decades, Blur have released eight studio albums and collected ten NME Awards, six Q Awards, five BRIT Awards and an Ivor Novello Award, and played live to millions of devoted fans across the globe.  Whilst they are an iconic band, the new music truly feels like they have re-invented their sound for 2023 and we should really amplify the commercial viability and youthful leaning sound to reach new audiences. The Ballad of Darren is truly incredible body of work which is beautifully layered, with real stand-out singles which is understandably described by the band as one of their best creations.

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Greta Van Fleet - Starcatcher

Greta Van Fleet - Starcatcher - Republic Records
GRAMMY-winning band Greta Van Fleet consists of 3 brothers – Josh Kiszka (vocals), Jake Kiszka (guitar) and Sam Kiszka (bass/keyboards) – as well as Danny Wagner (drums). Together, they have performed across multiple continents, sold over 3.5M records and 1M tickets worldwide. Their much anticipated 3rd studio album Starcatcher, produced by Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Brandi Carlile) and recorded at RCA Studios in Nashville, is set for release via Lava/Republic Records. 

Early Listen Available Video Available PlayArt Enhanced

Nina Simone - You've Got To Learn

Nina Simone - You've Got To Learn - Verve
The Newport Jazz Festival had always brought the best out of Nina Simone. On July 2, 1966 the audience was treated to the full range of her artistry – from the opener, a breathtaking version of “You’ve Got To Learn” to a swinging take on “Mississippi Goddam.” After the standing ovation, her fans were rewarded with the show- stopping encore, “Music For Lovers.” This previously unreleased recording makes it clear why hearing Nina Simone in concert was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Video Available 

back to top